Music: The New Basement Tapes

The New Basement Tapes

The New Basement Tapes is a collective of musicians Elvis Costello, Rhiannon Giddens, Taylor Goldsmith, Jim James and Marcus Mumford. Their album Lost on the River features songs from recently uncovered lyrics handwritten by Bob Dylan. The lyrics date back to 1967 when he was writing for his album The Basement Tapes.

The thing that I find most amazing about this collaboration is not only the level of talent but the fact that the five musicians had been sent the collection of Dylan's lyrics and they came to the first recording session with their own musical variations of the different songs. Producer T Bone Burnett didn't want to encourage competition so they recorded ALL the variations and ended up with 40 tracks, only 20 of them made the cut. I just think this whole thing is an incredible tribute and idea so I will shut up now and let you listen.

P.S. Yes that is Johnny Depp, he had to fill in for Elvis Costello during the recording of "Kansas City".

Brittany MayComment